performances  | news

musica viva Minas Borboudakis symphonieorchester des bayerischen Rundfunks Iannis Xenakis Francesca Verunelli
©BR/musica viva


Herkulessaal | Munich | Germany

>sparks, waves and horizons< for large orchestra will be premiered by the Bavarian Radio Symphony Orchestra at musica viva, one of the world’s most famous events for future-oriented and contemporary music based in Munich.

The commissioned work is inspired by the form of the waves which is integrated in several parameters of the music. 

Frank Ollu will conduct further works by Francesca Verunelli and Iannis Xenakis

contemporary music, flute, piano, violoncello, Minas Borboudakis
© Yannis Soulis, Astrid Ackermann, Andreas Loucaides

15 /10/2021 6 & 8 p.m.

Seidlvilla | Munich | Germany


The three jung musicians Eva Stavrou (flute), Katerina Giannitsioti (violoncello) and Thalia Papadopoulou (piano) will present several chamber works by Minas Borboudakis in two concerts titled  >Nachklänge< [echos]. Geographical, historical and sonic echoes will be the main topic of the works which will be performed by the trio, promising an evening full of mysticism, poetics and modernity.

der/gelbe/klang Minas Borboudakis

26 & 29/9/2021

Marktoberdorf | Germany

Schwere Reiter | Munich | Germany


Commissioned by the Bavarian State Orchestra back in 2011 >synaptic arpeggiator<  is twenty minute long woodwind quintet scored for piccolo, cor anglais, piccolo clarinet, bass clarinet and double bassoon.

Inspired by the method of creating rhythmical chains based on overtones, a method used in the synthesizers since the early 80s, Borboudakis is building within the work homogenous sections flowing from each other. Tiny musical cells connect like synapses  and lead the music forwards.  

Members of the contemporary music ensemble der/gelbe/klang and long term performers of Borboudakis' music, will perform the work among compositions by KP Werani, M. Eggert and P. Eötvös.

Borboudakis Minas, Pianist, contemporary piano,Neue Musik
© Stavros Petropoulos


Rubinsteinsaal | Munich | Germany


As a part of the concert "Hilleriana",  dedicated to Borboudakis' teacher Wilfried Hiller, the composer will perform parts of the piano collection >Das Buch der Sterne< by Wilfried Hiller with Arnold Schoenbergs >sechs kleine Klavierstücke Op. 19< as well as his >modular loops<  for one or multiple pianos.

Constantinos Carydis Minas Borboudakis Mozarteumorchester Salzburg
©Mozarteumorchester Salzburg/ Thomas Brill


Großes Festspielhaus | Salzburg | Austria


Under the baton of the great conductor Constantinos Carydis, the Mozarteumorchester Salzburg will premiere the new work >Z metamorphosis< for large orchestra.

After watching the dress rehearsal of the opera >Z<, the greek conductor, asked the composer if he could imagine enlarging the sound of >Z< in a symphonic work, which found the composer agreeing. 

The large scaled work is not only making use of the instrumental reservoir of a full orchestra, but it is also transforming the main musical elements of the homonymous opera >Z<  in a symphonic form, creating new sonorities out of the already used material.     

>Z metamorphosis< is a co-commission by the well known Mozarteumorchester Salzburg and the Junge Deutsche Philharmonie, realised with the kind support of the Ernst von Siemens Musikstiftung.

© helbig/ giannitsioti
© helbig/ giannitsioti


Schwere Reiter | Munich | Germany


Katerina Giannitsioti and Brigitte Helbig will present the second work of the chamber music series ROAI by Minas Borboudakis, which is based on the Heraclitean phrase πάντα ῥεῖ (panta rhei/everything flows). ROAI II for cello and piano is dealing with the vertical movement of the sound through time.

The performance will take place as part of the annual "Musikfest" of the Munich section of the German Society for Contemporary Music [MGNM].  Several composers and contemporary music instrumentalists  will perform works among others by Henrik Ajax, Iannis Xenakis, Carola Bauckholt, Nikolaus Brass, 48 Nord.

© CodeModern
© CodeModern


Schlossmuseum | Murnau | Germany


>ONE- strips< is the second string quartet by Minas Borboudakis, inspired by the strips series of the famous german painter Gerhard Richter.

Affected by the painter's technique, Borboudakis produces sonic surfaces out of slices of sounds, using granular synthesis as a compositional tool.

>ONE- strips< will be performed by members of the contemporary music ensemble der/gelbe/klang at the recently founded festival Code Modern.